Better Today Than Yesterday (BTTY)
Better Today Than Yesterday
A Day Yesterday
4
0:00
-7:50

A Day Yesterday

🎧 #38 | Resurfacing, reflecting, and my journaling practice
4

Hi Friends,

In a post a bit ago, I shared a piece of wisdom passed on to me from one of my favorite humans. She shared that she keeps a file of compliments that she can refer to when she needs it.

She is an incredible human. Kind, gentle, thoughtful, and the personification of care. I’ve taken that an incorporated it into my journaling system. The process is humming and feels too important not to share. In fact, a piece of joy (memory) came up today that I hope i never forget. Thank you journal.

Here goes…

I have, for a few years, kept a journal. Admittedly i’m about as consistent as the 6 Train. Fear not, this isn’t a pitch for journaling or a deep dive into the health benefits. Personally, it is a valuable part of my ‘operating system’ and helps to bring clarity while supporting a good headspace. One of my favorite parts of my journaling practice is “positive time travel.”

I’ve made the point repeatedly that we are the only species, that we know of, that is capable of time travel. We freely move between regret and worry - both are us misusing our imagination. While I don’t advocate regret (my regrets are around my own anger), I do think reflecting is very valuable. Revisiting your lessons and moments of joy is productive.

My journal practice moves between digital and analog fluidly. Periods where banging on these keys feels right and others where 80 gram paper sans the pixels fills my cup. Either way, I log my journals in an app. This brings the benefit of fire proofing the analog along with the option of ‘wordless journaling’ by uploading a photo/video. I get to be selective about what memory I want to see again without having google or apple decide. I have to be selective.

Here is my system. It’s not perfect and while I try to show up daily, I’m not always consistent. Maybe there is a BTTY bite for you in this or you can share one back at me (please!).

  1. Day One: This is the app I use. You can get a full download of the features here. I’ll give you my highlights:

    1. You can have multiple journals - I keep two regularly. Personal and compliments.

    2. Adding entries: You can add entries via the app or you can text or email into the app too. You can schedule the app to text yo at a certain time each day and if you respond it will get logged. I also use it to forward emails (particularly compliments).

    3. Robots: I use IFTTT to sync other parts of my life. IFTTT is a service, with a free option, that allows you to sync other parts of your life without doing anything. If I tap like when streaming music it will get logged in my journal. I also sync my workouts from Strava and Garmin.

  2. Notebook - Mine is XXXX. I use a form of bullet journaling in the front (work, daily, etc) and personal journal / commonplace book in the back (I write back to front). I like this journal because it’s smaller than normal but not too small. The cover is not hard but sturdy, and you can customize the pages (dots, lines, etc).

This is what I think matters.

A) Getting It Out: Sometimes you need to get the firing neurons on paper. It’s like taking out the garbage. Usually by the time I am done I finish in a good place. Whether it’s brainstorming as a party of one or venting to myself. Generally, but not always, objectivity and clarity find their way onto the paper (or screen). I just write what I want and stop when I want. A dear friend turned me onto morning pages and while I don’t do this completely it’s kinda what I do.

B) Resurfacing: Whether it is digital or analog (the app lets me scan PDFs easily) I look at my journal entries on the anniversary they were created. It’s like your favorite social media app resurfacing memories but without the social pressure. Whether good (joy) or bad (lesson) it comes back for reflection. There are too many lessons and moments to leave back on the side of the road. We need to revisit them to learn and to remember.

Again, maybe not right for everyone but thought I’d share. Looking back where I was, sometimes with a cringe, is valuable to me. I am very excited to build my compliment journal too (thanks AW!). Maybe because my love language is words of affirmation or maybe because I spend too much time being self critical. Either way, why wouldn’t we put a system in place to remind ourselves about what is wonderful about us?

If you have any thoughts or recommendations please hit me up. I’m eager to continue to make this process better.

4 Comments
Better Today Than Yesterday (BTTY)
Better Today Than Yesterday
Hey! Join me as I share my lessons about life, leadership, and the peaceful pursuit of Better Today Than Yesterday.