Better Today Than Yesterday (BTTY)
Better Today Than Yesterday
A Time Hack That Could Change Your Life
0:00
-4:25

A Time Hack That Could Change Your Life

No. 82

Humans think in stories, and we try to make sense of the world by telling stories. The truly unique trait of 'Sapiens' is our ability to create and believe fiction. All other animals use their communication system to describe reality. We use our communication system to create new realities. - Yuval Noah Harari


Hi friends,

What does success mean? That’s been on my mind lately. Well, that’s not true. It’s always been on my mind. Princess Buttercup reminded me this weekend that I’ve been working consistently since I was 13. The reasons have changed over time, but make no mistake, the money stories run deep. At a moment when I was less than ten, I remember worrying to myself that one day I would be homeless. No real reason. Just some early time travel from one young Vohs.

“Worry and regret are just a misuse of your imagination.”

I have the fortunate/unfortunate tendency to hold questions like “What does success look like?” heavily. I don’t hold them lightly as a friend encourages me to do or allow them to move in and out. They plant themselves and root in my mind, seeping into the crevices like water. Sometimes, that water is clear, sometimes muddy. Often, it spills out into the lives of those closest to me—sorry, folks.

What is a life well lived? What will your impact be? How will the world be better because you were here?

On my way to starting my sixth decade, it’s unsurprising that this would be on my mind. Maybe I’m a stereotype like that, but then maybe not. The elusivity of those answers is interesting. The socially acceptable ones are easy. Be a good father, be a good member of the community, be a good partner, etc. That’s what we are supposed to say. What about the not socially acceptable ones? The selfish ones? The ones driven by ego? By ambition? Do you have the courage to be honest with yourself?

What we think, we become.

The values and virtues we live help us prioritize the use of our most valuable resource, time. Do we prioritize comfort, compensation, or competition? Or do we prioritize joy, peace, and generosity?

In his new book The Pathless Path,

shared an excellent tip I want to bring your way today. He spent reflective time writing down the words that he wanted to drive his life. These priorities are what he believed would help him decide how to spend his time. His words are health, relationships, fun, & creativity. Here’s the hack: he placed them in a calendar invite that has popped up on his phone every morning at 830AM since 2013.

What really matters to you? What words do you want to think about each day and act on? Does the day's momentum allow your words to be pushed aside and replaced by others? If you and I aren’t intentional about our words, we will be moved by our history, our stories, and the stories of others.

I’m still unsure what success is, but Emerson’s famous words about success are worth repeating. Maybe it's worth memorizing.

“To laugh often and much; to win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children; to earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends; to appreciate the beauty; to find the best in others; to leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch or a redeemed social condition; to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded!”

Something to consider this week.

Take care,


👋 If this was helpful, please hit like and share it with someone who will find it helpful, too.

Share

0 Comments
Better Today Than Yesterday (BTTY)
Better Today Than Yesterday
Hey! Join me as I share my lessons about life, leadership, and the peaceful pursuit of Better Today Than Yesterday.