Better Today Than Yesterday (BTTY)
Better Today Than Yesterday
Leverage Matters
0:00
-5:00

Leverage Matters

No. 108

"If we allow more people to solve problems without permission, and if we tolerate (and don’t vilify) their mistakes, then we enable a much larger set of problems to be addressed." - Ed Catmull


Recently, a friend said: “At a certain point, you can’t muscle it anymore.” It was one of those comments that made me stop midstride and say, “Why didn’t I think of that.” I love it when that happens, and it made me consider my own leadership and how many times I’ve ‘muscled’ it. The famous quote from Archimedes seems appropriate here,

“Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum to place it, and I shall move the world.”

As organizations grow, they become more complex. As leaders, we have a responsibility to keep evolving to bear the weight of these increasing complexities. However, we can't always depend on our strength alone. Looking back, it's evident when I've needed leverage but instead muscled it. Those were times when I thought I needed to know everything that was happening, be part of each decision, be in every meeting, and try to reach in and inspire every soul personally. I needed help. I needed leverage. Those teams were amazing, and I wonder how much better they could have been if I’d seen where I was getting in the way.

Six Thoughts On Leverage

1. Growth Provides Leverage

Start by developing the team's skills before expanding the team size. More humans might be needed, but make it a last resort. Naval Ravikant said,

”One form of leverage is labor—other humans working for you. It is the oldest form of leverage and actually not a great one in the modern world. I would argue this is the worst form of leverage that you could possibly use. Managing other people is incredibly messy. It requires tremendous leadership skills. You’re one short hop from a mutiny or getting eaten or torn apart by the mob.”

Conversely, Andy Grove said, “Training is, quite simply, one of the highest-leverage activities a manager can perform.“

2. Delegate and Elevate

Be willing to let go and accept that others may approach the work differently (hopefully). Mistakes will happen. We bear a responsibility to the organization and give our humans opportunities to learn.

3. Seek Complements, Not Compliments

Find team members who are good dance partners for you. It’s painful to recognize what you don’t know or aren’t good at. Sending your team over the edge in a fireball because of your ego is more painful. We get paid for our judgment.

How can you improve your judgment through people who complement you?

4. Authority to Act

Put this as close to the issue or opportunity as possible. If you feel uneasy about your control, it's a sign you are doing it right.

5. Commanders Intent (Clarity):

In the military, the commander clearly communicates their expectations, often in writing. There is absolute clarity on the objective, how much authority you have, where you are expected to be decisive, and where they want to be involved.

6. You Are Leverage

When asked for career advice, one of my responses is, "Make your boss's life easier." Said differently, provide leverage. The more leverage you provide, the more valuable you become. Our compensation, at least the economic part, is based on the value we create.

How much of the work you do every day could be done by someone or something else? What are you holding onto, and why? Where are you, just maybe, getting in the way?

These are some things to consider as you head into your week. Like you, I’m working on all of this too.

I hope you’re good, and if you found this helpful, share it with a friend. If you have thoughts on leverage, please share them with this community in the comments.

Take care,

Kelly

0 Comments
Better Today Than Yesterday (BTTY)
Better Today Than Yesterday
Hey! Join me as I share my lessons about life, leadership, and the peaceful pursuit of Better Today Than Yesterday.