Better Today Than Yesterday (BTTY)
Better Today Than Yesterday
My Words Matter
9
0:00
-2:42

My Words Matter

🎧 #46
9

Cream & Sugar, Please

A few syllables of kindness can make all the difference.

Whether at the coffee shop, the dinner table, or that video call. I see you and appreciate the part of your life you gave me.

It’s saying “No, thank you” to recognize they didn’t have to offer. They aren’t there to serve you, even if you pay them with ducats, dollars, or Dominican pesos. They were being kind and helpful. Let’s honor their kindness, and it will amplify.

Tell Them When They Get It Right

With so many opportunities to feel like we are getting it wrong, lean in when someone gets it right - either in their opinion or their actions. While Dale Carnegie says the sweetest sound to someone is their name, I disagree.

The sweetest sound is an affirmation that your actions and opinions are good. If you agree, tell them. And if you disagree, tell them. Just be kind, and whatever we do, let’s not waffle with phrases like “I don’t disagree.”

And I Am Sorry

I advocate using “I’m sorry.” Even if it wasn’t my fault, I’m sorry you got a flat tire this morning. I’m sorry your coffee spilled on your new shirt. I am sorry that someone you love is at risk or may not make it. Deeply.

I don't believe I’m at fault for those things, but if I could fix them, I would. So, I’m sorry. And how can I help? A box of tissues and a friend may be all you need from me now. Need me to get on a plane? I’m in.

I am not advocating the indiscriminate use of these words to make people feel good. I’m asking that we all recognize their power when delivered genuinely.

In our haste, we often forget the little things, and lots of little things add up. We don’t have a choice - our actions send ripples into the universe: every text, email, and interaction matters.

A dear friend coined the phrase “ambitiously kind”. I agree with him.

Let’s be ambitiously kind friends.

9 Comments
Better Today Than Yesterday (BTTY)
Better Today Than Yesterday
Hey! Join me as I share my lessons about life, leadership, and the peaceful pursuit of Better Today Than Yesterday.