8

What about me is keeping me from being me?

No. 107
8
Transcript

No transcript...

In the West, we often think of art as a blank canvas, something we add to create the final piece. In the East, artists frequently start with a piece of jade and remove parts until the art is revealed1.

We each have a self-image formed through our experiences. We often cling to this image, which influences various aspects of our lives—how we dress, behaviors, language, beliefs, friendships, and self-perception.

I've spent my lifetime constructing “me.” Much of this was to protect myself, compensate for perceived inadequacies, and pursue necessary things or ideas. Sometimes, I've stripped away the protective layers, letting “me” come through.

I’ve been thinking, "What misconceptions about myself do I cling to so tightly that they get in my way?" "What needs to be removed?" Or, put simply,

"What about me is keeping me from being me?"

Considerations:

  • What is your real fear? This is a question I’m working through. I think I'm getting closer to the answer.

  • Are there parts of your old self that are hindering your evolution? I know I’m holding onto parts that need to be let go.

  • How would things change if you were unafraid of judgment or failure? Like all of us, I do things to protect myself from both. Fear of Other People’s Opinions (FOPO) is real. Protecting resources and status is real.

  • Do your actions align with your priorities? Get real here. Really real.

I'm trying to be deliberate about what I add to my life and even more so about what I remove. Like you, I'm a “work in potential.” I'll leave you with this thought from Anne Lamott:

"I’m here to be me, which is taking a great deal longer than I had hoped."
—Anne Lamott

I hope you’re good and you found this helpful. If you did, please grab this link and send it to a friend.

https://kellyvohs.substack.com/p/what-about-me-is-keeping-me-from

Take care, Kelly

1

Author Arthur Brooks compares Western and Eastern art in his book Strength to Strength.

8 Comments
Better Today Than Yesterday (BTTY)
Better Today Than Yesterday
Hey! Join me as I share my lessons about life, leadership, and the peaceful pursuit of Better Today Than Yesterday.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Kelly Vohs