Better Today Than Yesterday (BTTY)
Better Today Than Yesterday
Where is your energy going?
17
0:00
-3:07

Where is your energy going?

🎧 #44
17

I think about energy.

The energy I have for life, the energy I give off, and the energy I get from others—the encouragement, discouragement, and where it leaks.

How can I maximize its use? How can I get more through good habits? How can I be satisfied with what I have? How can I replenish it when it’s gone? Most importantly, where am I letting my energy go to waste? I have two that lead my list.

Status Seeking

Time Travel

Status

To status-seeking, I shared the story of Marcus Aurelius and Lucius Commodus. One great emperor and one tragic failure. If you’ve seen the movie Gladiator, you have a sense. From Marcus:

"It never ceases to amaze me: we all love ourselves more than other people but care more about their opinion than our own."

He wrote that in Meditations Book 12 two thousand years ago, and it’s still a fact today. You aren’t alone.

Stop worrying about what people think about you - they don’t! At least not as much as you wish. They don’t care about your hair, clothes, car, or other things our hedonic treadmill promotes. Just show up and be you. You are good enough.

Time Travel

I’m talking about worry and regret.

Ryan Holiday says in Stillness is the Key:

“The less energy we waste regretting the past or worrying about the future, the more energy we will have for what’s in front of us.”

Life is just a series of moments threaded together. It’s like an old movie reel with frames. If we slow the projector down, we can see the frames for what they are. They are delicate, unique, and meant to be enjoyed. Wherever you are right now, take a moment to recognize something special: a color, a smell, or a person. If you struggle, look in the mirror.

Whether at work or home, let’s take their advice. Don’t worry about what people think, and don’t time travel. You only have so much energy for your humans and your life. Please don’t waste it on things that don’t matter. You are here, be here. You are enough, and you have enough.

Spend your energy wisely, friends.

17 Comments
Better Today Than Yesterday (BTTY)
Better Today Than Yesterday
Hey! Join me as I share my lessons about life, leadership, and the peaceful pursuit of Better Today Than Yesterday.